Wynton Marsalis - Blakey's Messengers, Vol. 2Wynton Marsalis - Blakey's Messengers, Vol. 2 Guillaume Libert - Jean SablonGuillaume Libert - Jean Sablon Catchpole - 5 A.M.Catchpole - 5 A.M. Kpounkt - Truth and LiesKpounkt - Truth and Lies Roberto Cacciapaglia Ensemble - TransarmonicaRoberto Cacciapaglia Ensemble - Transarmonica Arborist - Twisted ArrowArborist - Twisted Arrow Johnny Neri - Endless JourneyJohnny Neri - Endless Journey Various Artists - Adriatic System, Vol. 1Various Artists - Adriatic System, Vol. 1
» » King James & The Special Men - Act Like You Know
King James & The Special Men - Act Like You Know album download

King James & The Special Men - Act Like You Know album download

King James & The Special Men
Act Like You Know
Recording location:
The House of 1000 Hz
MP3 archive size:
1174 mb
FLAC archive size:
1306 mb
Other formats:

The debut release from King James & The Special Men captures the spirit of New Orleans in a bottle. After years of performing residency, they’ve released their first album. Act Like You Know is only six tracks, but left us feeling like we’d attended every Fat Tuesday party in the city, and all the after parties as well. The band is made up of Jimmy King James Horn (vocals, guitar); Ben Polcer (piano); Robert Snow (bass); John Rodli (guitar); Chris Davis (drums); Jason Mingledorff and Travis Blotzky (tenor sax); Dominick Grillo (baritone sax); Scott Frock (trumpet); and Jason Jurzak (tuba).

The album was recorded at House of 1000Hz Studios in the 9th Ward and engineered by Andrew Goat Gilchrest. What’s inside is more than the sum of it’s parts, however. Act Like You Know opens on Special Man Boogie, a raucous Louisiana -style hello, with surf guitar and a clave rhythm calling you in off the street. King James and The Special Men are doing some grown shit, like playing Tonder Festival in Denmark, and recording albums by people and communities of color in New Orleans to further this tradition, in the spirit of those that have gone before. Look for those come Mardi Gras, for now you can pick up Act Like You Know on vinyl, or anywhere music is sold online, July 21st. Promenade WordPress theme by AudioTheme.

Track Listing: . pecial Man Boogie 2. Baby Girl 3. Eat That Chicken 4. Tell Me (What You Want Me to Do) 5. The End Is Near 6. 9th Ward Blues. Author Posted on July 22, 2017. Darrell says: Nice album, Thanks . my download speed was 4 MB/sec it’s normal ?? Reply. Leave a Reply Cancel reply.

Label: Special Man Industries. Side A. Special Man boogie. Tell Me (What You Want Me to Do). Side B. The End is Near. Jimmy Horn – vocals, guitar.

9th Ward Blues, which closes King James & the Special Men’s mini-album, is plenty long and plenty wild: It starts out as a cross of Indian chants with punk rock (the main riff isn’t far from the Stooges’ 1969 ) then erupts into a brass band jam that enters free-flowing Sun Ra territory before it’s through. You have to be in the right frame of mind to take in all 14 minutes-i. not sitting down at a computer writing about it-but this is one exhausting performance.

And I haven't heard a time quite as good as King James & The Special Men's debut album, Act Like You Know, in quite awhile. The New Orleans-based band could very easily become the go-to group for anyone seeking a sassy, rollicking, infectious blues experience. King James & The Special Men consists of: Jimmy Horn (vocals and guitar), Ben Polcer (piano), Robert Snow (bass), John Rodli (guitar), Chris Davis (drums), Jason Mingledorff (tenor sax), Dominick Grillo (baritone sax), Travis Blotzky (tenor sax), Scott Frock (trumpet), and Jason Jurzak (tuba). This six song collection wil transport you to the New Orleans of your dreams-the one where summer thunder, drums, beating hearts and pianos are interchangeable

Act Like You Know is the third album released by MC Lyte. It was released on September 17, 1991, for First Priority Records, distributed by Atlantic Records and featured production from big-name producers, Audio Two, The 45 King, Epic Mazur and Richard Wolf.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Special Man Boogie Jimmy Horn King James & The Special Men 4:21
2 Baby Girl Jimmy Horn King James & The Special Men 3:45
3 Eat That Chicken Jimmy Horn King James & The Special Men 3:08
4 Tell Me (What You Want Me To Do) Jimmy Horn King James & The Special Men 6:35
5 The End Is Near Jimmy Horn King James & The Special Men 5:05
6 9th Ward Blues Jimmy Horn King James & The Special Men 13:51
  • When both Sturgill Simpson and St. Paul & The Broken Bones began borrowing horn players from King James & The Special Men, band founder Jimmy Horn knew he and his group had conjured something singular and potent. Act Like You Know was recorded at House of 1000Hz Studio in the 9th Ward, engineered by Andrew “Goat” Gilchrist.Consisting of James’ originals, Act Like You Know sees the King and company doing to their hometown New Orleans’ legendary canon of 50’s and 60’s R&B and its rowdy stepchild that the world came to know as rock ‘n’ roll what Brooklyn’s Dap Kings did to 60’s funk ‘n ‘soul – they honor these traditions while bringing them back to raucous, ass-shaking life in the 21st century. James keeps his songs simple and catchy, so listeners can grab on and roll with them.King James & The Special Men forged their sound through a five-year Monday night residency (many New Orleans residents work in the hospitality industry, so Monday is the big party night for locals) at BJ’s Lounge, followed by a year at Sidney’s Saloon, then for the past few years at Saturn Bar in the Bywater. They play to a young, discerning and usually rowdy crowd as well as out of town celebrities in the know: Elvis Costello, Robert Plant and devoted fan Greg Dulli of the Afghan Whigs. Besides their hometown gigs, James and his cohorts have travelled to Europe, Los Angeles and New York to perform. One New York show as part of the prestigious Lincoln Center summer concert series.Act Like You Know blasts off with “Special Man Boogie,” with a driving vintage NOLA R&B style bass riff and a tasty “Spanish tinge.” Two mournful blues, “Baby Girl” and “Tell Me (What You Want Me to Do)” call up the restless spirit of the city’s first six string icon (non-Jazz division!) Guitar Slim. The rollicking, ribald “Eat That Chicken” was inspired by the sorely underappreciated oeuvre of longtime Dr. John writing partner Jessie Hill – a local hero.