Maria Eliza - MarcasMaria Eliza - Marcas Karaoke All-Stars - Pure Pop, Vol. 134Karaoke All-Stars - Pure Pop, Vol. 134 Will Champion - CrispyWill Champion - Crispy Various Artists - Experiencing God: Music for Knowing and Doing the Will of GodVarious Artists - Experiencing God: Music for Knowing and Doing the Will of God Incredible Kidda Band - Too Much, Too Little, Too Late!Incredible Kidda Band - Too Much, Too Little, Too Late! Charlélie Couture - 109Charlélie Couture - 109 Parahdox - Snowballin'Parahdox - Snowballin' Various Artists - WingmakersVarious Artists - Wingmakers
» » Gene Pitney - Blue Gene/Gene Meets the Fair Young Ladies of Folkland
Gene Pitney - Blue Gene/Gene Meets the Fair Young Ladies of Folkland album download

Gene Pitney - Blue Gene/Gene Meets the Fair Young Ladies of Folkland album download

Gene Pitney
Blue Gene/Gene Meets the Fair Young Ladies of Folkland
Brill Building Pop,Early Pop/Rock,AM Pop
MP3 archive size:
1693 mb
FLAC archive size:
1139 mb
Other formats:

Gene Pitney Meets the Fair Young Ladies of Folkland is American singer Gene Pitney's sixth album, released on the Musicor label in 1964. Initially released under the title Dedicated to My Teen Queens, the album contains folk songs about young women. The album did not chart and none of the tracks were released as singles. Those Eyes O' Liza Jane" (Aaron Schroeder, Wally Gold) – 2:23. Laurie" (Don Gohman, Hal Hackady) – 2:23. Brandy is My True Love's Name" (Atra Baer, Martin Kalmanoff) – 3:00.

This 2013 RPM two-fer reissues two Gene Pitney concept albums from the '60s originally released as a two-fer from Sequel in the late '90s. The titles here are fairly self-explanatory. Blue Gene isn't exactly a blues album but it is moody, and so dramatic it can sometimes seem cinematic, particularly when the sharp, tremeloed guitars are vying for space with horns, strings, backing vocals, and pianos. At times, things may be a tad overcooked but that's part of the appeal, as the grand-scale arrangements fit Pitney's keen, melodramatic voice

Blue Gene was a hit LP for Gene, and Fair Young Ladies of Folkland was virtually unknown even in its da. lue Gene casts Gene in a familiar role in his songs, a lonely, unhappy, often jilted character a character Gene perfected in his live performances. It's similar to Sinatra Sings For Only the Lonely in this way. Gene was in the midst of a big string of hits at this point and the album leads off with one of the best of his Bacharach/David numbers, Twenty-Four Hours From Tulsa, a sweepingly cinematic song of leaving one love for another, and one of Gene's most memorable hits.

Gene Pitney – Gene Francis Alan Pitney was an American singer-songwriter, musician, and sound engineer. Pitney charted 16 Top-40 hits in the U. S. four in the Top 10, in the UK he had 22 Top-40 hits, and 11 singles in the Top Ten. He also wrote the early 1960s hits Rubber Ball recorded by Bobby Vee, Hes a Rebel by the Crystals, in 2002, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Schroeder also once appeared on the CBS television game show To Tell The Truth along with two imposters during the fifth season. Schroeder was founder and president of Musicor Records, a front runner of the independent labels to be distributed by a major company worldwide and he discovered, managed and directed the career of Gene Pitney and produced the Academy Award nominee for Best Song, Town Without Pity.

GENE PITNEY was one of the most prolific and successful international artists of the 1960s, releasing some twenty-five albums (plus a further dozen or so Greatest Hits sets) and around thirty-five singles. In the 1990s, Sequel Records paired up Gene’s original LPs as 2-on-1s, plus bonus tracks and all mastered from first-generation tapes. Pitney himself was delighted with the results. Sadly Gene died in 2006 whilst touring the UK, by which time these 2-on-1s had long been deleted. Following hard on its heels that December came Meets The Fair Young Ladies Of Folkland, a concept album which marked a departure from the usual hit-driven formula. In an attempt to woo the teen market, the album was hastily repackaged as Dedicated To My Teen Queens and remains one of Gene’s rarest albums. Gene’s second UK Top 10 single, ‘That Girl Belongs To Yesterday’, is included here by way of a bonus.

This 1963 album found Gene Pitney pursuing the blend of rock, pop, and pre-rock ballads that defined his unique style. The big highlight of this album is "Twenty Hours From Tulsa," a guilt-wracked Burt Bacharach/Hal David narrative about a man who strays from fidelity just 24 hours shy of reaching his true love

Those Eyes O’ Liza Jane. Your browser does not support the audio element. Brandy Is My True Love’s Name.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Twenty-Four Hours from Tulsa Burt Bacharach / Hal David Gene Pitney 3:00
2 Autumn Leaves Joseph Kosma / Johnny Mercer / Jacques Prévert Gene Pitney 2:40
3 Half the Laughter, Twice the Tears Al Cleveland / Carl Spencer Gene Pitney 2:13
4 I'll Be Seeing You Sammy Fain / Irving Kahal Gene Pitney 3:00
5 Lonely Night Dreams (Of Faraway Arms) John Gluck Jr. / Neval Nader Gene Pitney 2:44
6 Answer Me, My Love Carl Sigman / Gerhard Winkler Gene Pitney 3:06
7 Blue Gene Gene Pitney 2:10
8 Yesterday's Hero Al Cleveland / Wally Gold / Aaron Schroeder / Carl Spencer Gene Pitney 2:34
9 Maybe You'll Be There Rube Bloom / Sammy Gallop Gene Pitney 2:43
10 Keep Tellin' Yourself Ellie Greenwich / Jerry Leiber / Tony Powers / Mike Stoller Gene Pitney 2:23
11 I Can't Run Away Gary Geld / Eric Udel Gene Pitney 2:06
12 House Without Windows Lee Pockriss / Frederick Tobias Gene Pitney 2:28
13 Take It Like a Man Jerry Leiber / Mike Stoller Gene Pitney 2:24
14 Those Eyes of Liza Jane Wally Gold / Aaron Schroeder Gene Pitney 2:25
15 Laurie Gene Pitney 2:23
16 Brandy Is My True Love's Name Gene Pitney 3:01
17 My Suli-Ram Johnny Mandel / Norman Sachs Gene Pitney 2:09
18 Little Nell Gene Pitney 3:19
19 Melissa and Me Gene Pitney 2:48
20 Oh, Annie, Oh Gary Jackson Gene Pitney 2:35
21 Lyda Sue, Wha'dya Do? Mark Barkan / Ben Raleigh Gene Pitney 1:59
22 Carrie Wally Gold / Aaron Schroeder Gene Pitney 2:38
23 Hey, Pretty Little Black Eyed Suzie Gene Pitney 2:05
24 Song of Lorena Mason Gene Pitney 3:15
25 Darlin' Corey, Ain't Ya Comin' Down Town Norman Sachs Gene Pitney 2:05
26 The Ballad of Aura Mae Norman Sachs Gene Pitney 2:21
27 That Girl Belongs to Yesterday Mick Jagger / Keith Richards Gene Pitney 2:47