Zur - Sale el SolZur - Sale el Sol Roro Kaliko - RoukoulajRoro Kaliko - Roukoulaj Portugal. The Man - Rich FriendsPortugal. The Man - Rich Friends Michael Fracasso - World in a Drop of WaterMichael Fracasso - World in a Drop of Water Quartetto Noûs - Stravinskij, Haydn, DebussyQuartetto Noûs - Stravinskij, Haydn, Debussy DJ Gollum / Nicco - Together ForeverDJ Gollum / Nicco - Together Forever Arawak - Accadde a BaliArawak - Accadde a Bali Jeff Young - The Unmaking of Me... EPJeff Young - The Unmaking of Me... EP
» » Dan Hicks - Early Muses
Dan Hicks - Early Muses album download

Dan Hicks - Early Muses album download

Dan Hicks
Early Muses
Country-Rock,Progressive Country,Singer/Songwriter,Rock & Roll
1967 - 1968
MP3 archive size:
1622 mb
FLAC archive size:
1205 mb
Other formats:

Daniel Ivan Hicks (December 9, 1941 – February 6, 2016) was an American singer-songwriter known for an idiosyncratic style that combined elements of cowboy folk, jazz, country, swing, bluegrass, pop, and gypsy music. He led Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks. He is perhaps best known for the songs "I Scare Myself" and "Canned Music.

EARLY MUSES consists of recordings made by Dan at the "pre-dawn" of the Hot Licks' formation in late 1967-early 1968. The bulk of the CD is an unissued publishing demo album taped in October 1967 and produced by the Kingston Trio's Nick Reynolds, principally to pitch Dan's tunes to other artists, but also to represent himself as a solo act (Dan was still in the Charlatans at this time)

Dan Hicks ‎– Early Muses. Acoustic Bass – Jaime Leopold (tracks: 3 to 6, 8 to 14, 16). Compiled By – Alec Palao, Dan Hicks. Design – Phillip Lloyd-Smee. Guitar – Jon Weber (2) (tracks: 2, 7). Mastered By – Nick Robbins. Violin – David LaFlamme. Vocals, Guitar, Autoharp, Banjo, Harmonica, Percussion – Dan Hicks. Written-By – Dan Hicks (tracks: 2 to 20).

The music world lost a true original when singer-songwriter Dan Hicks died. The singer-guitarist led the acoustic group the Hot Licks. Their efforts resulted in a recording contract with Epic Records. Original Recordings was released in 1969, but the label’s promotion of the album and the group was lackluster, and it was not a commercial success. After some personnel changes, and a deal with Blue Thumb Records, what had then become the classic Hot Licks ensemble went on to produce the critically acclaimed and commercially successful albums Where’s The Money?, Striking It Rich and Last Train To Hicksville.

Dan Hicks, a singer, songwriter and bandleader who attracted a devoted following with music that was defiantly unfashionable, proudly eccentric and foot-tappingly catchy, died on Saturday at his home in Mill Valley, Calif. He was 74. The cause was liver cancer, said his wife, Clare. Mr. Hicks began performing with his band, Dan Hicks and His Hot Licks, in the late 1960s in San Francisco, where psychedelic rock bands like Jefferson Airplane and the Grateful Dead dominated the music scene. The Hot Licks’ sound could not have been more different

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Intro: Home on the Range Dan Hicks 0:46
2 Waiting for the 103 Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 4:03
3 How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away? Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 2:48
4 Slow Movin' Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 3:01
5 Shorty Goes South Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 2:00
6 The Innocent Bystander Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 3:23
7 The Jukies' Ball Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 4:17
8 Euphonious Whale Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 3:31
9 He Don't Care Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 3:07
10 The Gypsy's Secret Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 4:57
11 O'Reilly at the Bar Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 4:03
12 My Old Timey Baby Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 2:49
13 Shall I Ask an Elf? Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 4:22
14 Living with a Lie Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 2:43
15 I've Got a Capo on My Brain Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 1:00
16 Canned Music Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 4:19
17 Love Bug Blues Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 2:47
18 All Day Sucker Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 2:58
19 The Laughing Song Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 3:04
20 Fallin' Apart Dan Hicks Dan Hicks 4:02