Various Artists - Como Pan Caliente [Fania 1]Various Artists - Como Pan Caliente [Fania 1] Peter Hadar - She's 4 Months!Peter Hadar - She's 4 Months! Stabilizer - AmbushedStabilizer - Ambushed Nihad Najjar - Ma AatbakNihad Najjar - Ma Aatbak The Retro Waves - The Lounge LizardThe Retro Waves - The Lounge Lizard Various Artists - Eccentric Soul: The Tragar & Note LabelsVarious Artists - Eccentric Soul: The Tragar & Note Labels Karaoke - Best of Musical, Vol. 1Karaoke - Best of Musical, Vol. 1 Jason Castro - The Love Uncompromised EPJason Castro - The Love Uncompromised EP
» » Robert Craft - Schoenberg: Violin Concerto; A Survivor from Warsaw
Robert Craft - Schoenberg: Violin Concerto; A Survivor from Warsaw album download

Robert Craft - Schoenberg: Violin Concerto; A Survivor from Warsaw album download

Robert Craft
Schoenberg: Violin Concerto; A Survivor from Warsaw
MP3 archive size:
1231 mb
FLAC archive size:
1587 mb
Other formats:

A Survivor from Warsaw is surely overwhelming. With narrator David Wilson-Johnson taking the dramatic lead and the Philharmonia Orchestra providing the accompaniment, Craft's performance is nerve wracking. But when the Simon Joly Chorale enters at the climax, the effect only increases the intensity; it doesn't provide release from the horror. The program's odd man out is Schoenberg's 1934 Violin Concerto, a work composed in an earlier, entirely different, and much more genial musical world.

See Your Download Queue. CD 1. Arnold Schoenberg Composer. A Survivor from Warsaw, for narrator, male chorus and orchestra, O. 6 Work. Simon Joly Chorus Chorus/Choir, Philharmonia Orchestra of London Orchestra, David Wilson-Johnson Narrator, Robert Craft Conductor. 1. 6. Rolf Schulte Violin, Philharmonia Orchestra of London Orchestra, Robert Craft Conductor.

A Survivor from Warsaw" is surely overwhelming. Performed here with brilliance and élan by German violinist Rolf Schulte, the concerto is, relatively speaking for serial music, a lyrical work of vivacious virtuosity, showing Schoenberg at his most cheerfully neo-Brahmsian. Craft and the Philharmonia seem more relaxed here, particularly in the central Andante grazioso, and the finale's coda is suitably majestic.

This volume of Robert Craft' acclaimed Schoenberg series presents the composer' favourite of his own orchestral works, the Violin Concerto. Conceived in grand style and dedicated to his 'dear friend and fellow warrior' Webern, it draws on the technique. Exclusive discount for Prime members. As usual with this excellent Naxos series, the documentation (provided by the conductor Robert Craft) is invaluable. A Survivor From Warsaw, narrated in English, German, and Hebrew at the end, is dramatic and expressive. The orchestral score depicts Nazi atrocities against the Jews during WWII. Suffice to say, it is not comfortable listening, but effective.

A Survivor from Warsaw, Op. 46, is a cantata by the Los Angeles-based Austrian composer Arnold Schoenberg, written in tribute to Holocaust victims. The main narration is unsung; never should there be a pitch to its solo vocal line, wrote the composer.

The latest instalment of Robert Craft's invaluable Schoenberg survey for Naxos includes a number of the lesser-known late works alongside two of the final masterpieces. As on previous discs, the recordings are a mix of newly released and reissued tracks. Here, it's the Violin Concerto that has appeared before (on the Koch label). Rarities include the strange orchestral and choral Prelude to Genesis, as well as the unaccompanied choral pieces of Schoenberg's Op 50, Dreimal Tausend Jahre and Psalm 130.

00:07:09) Schoenberg, Arnold - A Survivor from Warsaw, o. 6 (1947). 2. (00:06:10) Schoenberg, Arnold - Prelude to Genesis, o. 4 (1945). 3. (00:02:46) Schoenberg, Arnold - Dreimal tausend Jahre, o. 0a (1949). Serenade & Variations For Orchestra (robert Craft - Naxos, 2006) '2006. Concerto For String Quartet & Book Of Hanging Gardens (robert Craft - Naxos,. Chamber Symphony No. 2 (robert Craft - Naxos, 2008) '2001. Pierrot Lunaire Etc. '1992.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 A Survivor from Warsaw, for narrator, male chorus & orchestra, Op. 46 Robert Craft 7:16
2 Prelude, for wordless chorus & orchestra (for collaborative cantata "Genesis Suite"), Op. 44 Robert Craft 6:15
3 Dreimal tausend Jahre, for chorus, Op. 50a Robert Craft 2:50
4 De Profundis, for chorus, Op. 50b Robert Craft 5:01
5 Ode to Napoleon Buonaparte, for narrator, piano & strings, Op. 41 Robert Craft 15:03
Violin Concerto, Op. 36
6 Poco allegro - Vivace Robert Craft 12:54
7 Andante grazioso Robert Craft 9:12
8 Finale: Allegro Robert Craft 12:26