Various Artists - StrandgeflüsterVarious Artists - Strandgeflüster Herman's Hermits - No Milk TodayHerman's Hermits - No Milk Today Zero dB - A Pomba Girou/Te QuieroZero dB - A Pomba Girou/Te Quiero Les Bougalous - Les BougalousLes Bougalous - Les Bougalous Slayer - Stain of MindSlayer - Stain of Mind Michael Ball - Stage and ScreenMichael Ball - Stage and Screen The Big Dogs - Warning! The Big Dogs InsideThe Big Dogs - Warning! The Big Dogs Inside The Undertones - My Perfect CousinThe Undertones - My Perfect Cousin
» » Mari Mäntylä - Decacorde
Mari Mäntylä - Decacorde album download

Mari Mäntylä - Decacorde album download

Mari Mäntylä
Chamber Music
June, 2007 & September, 2007
Recording location:
Hauho Church, Hämeenlinna, Finland
MP3 archive size:
1199 mb
FLAC archive size:
1307 mb
Other formats:

The first solo album of Mari Mäntylä, Decacorde (2008 Alba) received an excellent response in the music press both in Finland and abroad. She is an excellent technician-but more than that, she is an excellent musician. it is the Bach suite where Mäntylä really shines. The presentation on this disc is an authoritative and highly musical one. She splendidly captures the characteristics of each movement well and easily meets the technical demands of this challenging music.

Hauho Church, Hämeenlinna, Finland.

suomi) Mari Mäntylän instrumentti, decacorde eli 10-kielinen kitara, on klassisen kitaran harvinaisempi muoto jollaista soitettiin mm. Versaillesin hovissa. Decacorde, or the 10-string guitar, is a rare variation of the classical guitar, relatively unknown even to many professional guitarists. Nevertheless, the extra strings added to the usual 6-string instrument are no novelty, but has a long history in many cultures. Thus, the evolution of this variation of the guitar shows influence from a number of different string instruments, the strongest coming from the lute family.

Mari Mäntylä's decacorde album is like a set of Orphean attributes: belief in the spellbinding power of music, courage to rush headlong into danger, to love contrasts, to act rationally yet at the same time to rely on intuition and spontaneous displays of emotion. The new decacorde model can be heard in three of the pieces. Jukka Tiensuu wrote Kymmari especially for it, and the same to some extent applies to Pekka Jalkanen’s Nocturne for Insomnia and The Bog Gypsies. The four lowest strings have no frets in this ten-stringed guitar.

Mäntylä, Mari : Decacorde. Mari Mäntylä: Jalkanen, Pekka (b. 1945): 1 Preludi 6:37 FIABA 0800350 Dowland, John (1563-1626): 2 Lachrimae Pavan 5:42 FIABA 0800351 Jalkanen, Pekka (b. 1945): 3 Fantasia 5:51 FIABA 0800352 Dowland, John (1563-1626): 4 A Fancy 2:58 FIABA 0800353 Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750): 1. Prelude – Presto: 5 Prelude 2:18 FIABA 0800354 6 Presto 3:44 FIABA.

In the meantime, Mari Mäntylä has brought out at least one decacorde solo album. Owing to the ten strings of the decacorde, this instrument has a special mellowness in its bass notes. The starting point for the Speira album was to record new music that is custom-made for the Duo Dryades. This idea conceals also a risk; nothing familiar is given to the listener as a point of reference. The album opens with Sonatina Palimpsestica by a French composer Vincent Bouchot. A palimpsest is a manuscript on parchment, from which the original text has been scraped off and a new text has been applied.

Mari Mäntylä is a talented guitarist from Finland whose specialty is the ten-string decacorde, which adds four bass resonance strings to a conventional classical guitar, broadening its sonic palette considerably, giving it a richer, more full-bodied sound. Of course decacordes are not new-Rene Lacôte and Ferdinando Carulli collaborated on the design of one in the early 19th century, and more than a century after that Narciso Yepes and José Ramirez built a more modern version

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Preludi Pekka Jalkanen Mari Mäntylä 6:42
2 Lachrimae Pavan John Dowland Mari Mäntylä 5:49
3 Fantasia Pekka Jalkanen Mari Mäntylä 5:56
4 A Fancy John Dowland Mari Mäntylä 3:04
Lute Suite No. 3, BWV 995
5 1. Prelude - Presto. Prelude Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 2:18
6 1. Prelude - Presto. Presto Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 3:48
7 2. Allemande Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 6:53
8 3. Courante Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 2:29
9 4. Sarabande Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 4:05
10 5. Gavotte 1 Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 2:18
11 6. Gavotte 2 (en Rondeau). Gavotte 2 Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 1:27
12 6. Gavotte 2 (en Rondeau). Gavotte 1 (reprise) Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 1:16
13 Lute Suite No. 3, BWV 995 Johann Sebastian Bach Mari Mäntylä 2:46
14 Nokturni Pekka Jalkanen Mari Mäntylä 5:40