Various Artists - Collectables Gospel Classics, Vol. 6Various Artists - Collectables Gospel Classics, Vol. 6 Mo Millar - Goin' BasicMo Millar - Goin' Basic Douglas Blue Feather - Spirit of the FluteDouglas Blue Feather - Spirit of the Flute Fred Hersch / Fred Hersch Trio - Live at the Village VanguardFred Hersch / Fred Hersch Trio - Live at the Village Vanguard Arsonists Get All the Girls - Hits from the Bow/Game of LifeArsonists Get All the Girls - Hits from the Bow/Game of Life Demonika and the Darklings - Worry DollDemonika and the Darklings - Worry Doll Yannick Nézet-Séguin / Jennifer Swartz / Alain Trudel - Nino Rota: La Strada; ConcertosYannick Nézet-Séguin / Jennifer Swartz / Alain Trudel - Nino Rota: La Strada; Concertos Matthew Ross - The One ThingMatthew Ross - The One Thing
» » Gabriel Zufferey - Contemplation
Gabriel Zufferey - Contemplation album download

Gabriel Zufferey - Contemplation album download

Gabriel Zufferey
October, 2011
Recording location:
Veronique & Pierre-Yves Bernhard's Oasis, La Sage, VS
MP3 archive size:
1461 mb
FLAC archive size:
1606 mb
Other formats:

GABRIEL ZUFFEREY Contemplation Gabriel Zufferey piano. Born in 1984 in Geneve, Gabriel Zufferey is the kind of people who grew up in a family full of musicians and music lovers. Two years after his first jazz lessons, he won the Most promising musician award at the International competition of Martial Solal jazz piano. In a day and half, they created Après l’orage, his first album for Bee Jazz records. In 2010 Gabriel Zufferey released is second album, in live with Ramon Lopez (drums), Samuel Blaser (trombone), and Patrice Moret (bass). With Here & Know (still at Bee Jazz), Gabriel brings to the piano an electronic keyboard.

Finally, pianist Gabriel Zufferey's Contemplation includes two particularly subtle additions to the genre. In the first, Zufferey uncannily combines Erik Satie's atmospheric "Gnossiene no. 3" with trumpeter Miles Davis's "Nardis," immortalized by pianist Bill Evans. The second purports to mash up Coltrane's "Lonnie's Lament" with saxophonist Ornette Coleman's "Lonely Woman," which sounds like a great idea. Zufferey's approach to the extraordinarily well-known music he interprets is not reverential-but it is far from irreverent. On balance, Contemplation is a ringing endorsement of the continuing relevance of the canon (even as the pianist's contemporaries turn to Radiohead). Frequently, he is able to wrest fresh insights from old warhorses. Nowhere more so than on Coltrane's "Giant Steps.

Gabriel Zufferey has a delicate and powerful touch, tuneful and thoughtful, and a constant groove. He gets a confidence and a disturbing maturity, a large musical intelligence, and an unsuspected harmonic field. His touch has been connected to some pianists like Keith Jarrett, McCoy Tyner, Bill Evans, Duke Ellington, Brad Mehldau or even Bud Powell. He has an uncanny confidence and maturity, a vast musical intelligence, an unexpected harmonic scope

Gabriel Zufferey/Sébastien Boisseau/Daniel Humair- Après l'orage - Here's that rainy day. 03:01. Ballade en ce. Album Hear Know. Paralog - PlaY - AMR 2014. My funny Valentine - Album Contemplation. Treize Etre Ange - Album Hear Know. Après l'Orage - Album Après L'Orage. Paralog - Mrs Hippy Blues - AMR 2014.

Artist: Gabriel Zufferey. Album: Contemplation. Duration: 03:12 min. Listen.

Track List

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 Contemplation McCoy Tyner Gabriel Zufferey 3:13
2 Gnossienne N°3: Nardis Miles Davis / Erik Satie Gabriel Zufferey 5:22
3 Tension Gabriel Zufferey Gabriel Zufferey 1:09
4 Take Five Paul Desmond Gabriel Zufferey 4:20
5 Crepuscule Gabriel Zufferey Gabriel Zufferey 1:49
6 My Funny Valentine Richard Rodgers Gabriel Zufferey 2:47
7 Armando's Rhumba Chick Corea Gabriel Zufferey 1:35
8 Tenderly Walter Gross Gabriel Zufferey 4:59
9 Underside Gabriel Zufferey Gabriel Zufferey 1:39
10 The Old Country Nat Adderley / Curtis Lewis Gabriel Zufferey 2:28
11 In a Sentimental Mood Duke Ellington Gabriel Zufferey 3:56
12 Freedom Jazz Dance Eddie Harris Gabriel Zufferey 2:03
13 Dienda Kenny Kirkland Gabriel Zufferey 3:15
14 Cassiopée Gabriel Zufferey Gabriel Zufferey 2:10
15 Trinkle Tinkle Thelonious Monk Gabriel Zufferey 3:26
16 Giant Steps John Coltrane Gabriel Zufferey 5:52
17 Aldebaran Gabriel Zufferey Gabriel Zufferey 3:19
18 Lonnie's Lament: Lonely Woman Ornette Coleman / John Coltrane Gabriel Zufferey 2:25